More Business Lessons from Vacuuming

As I described the other day, I was volunteering at a local charity and was vacuuming a long hallway with their very cool, Zamboni-like industrial machine, when I came to the end of the cord.  Now, the cord on your household Kirby, Hoover or Eureka differs from the industrial vacuum by about 200 feet of cord.  I would guess that when you are cleaning a large building, you don’t want to have to constantly plug and unplug the cord to keep up with the area you are cleaning, so as a result, I could vacuum for quite a while before I would run out of cord and have to walk all the way down the hallway to unplug and retrieve, what seems like, a mile of cord.

I was on the last hallway, which would wrap up my shift, when I ran out of cord.  As luck would have it, I was only four feet away from the end of the carpet, and, wouldn’t you know, at the absolutely least used entrance of the entire building.  Apparently, I didn’t remember much from my ‘do I leave the tiny piece of paper’ experience minutes before, because I turned off the vacuum, looked back down the hall to where the cord was plugged in and then looked at the last four feet of un-vacuumed carpet.  And back at the hall, and back at the carpet, that looked clean.  I mean no one ever comes in that door.  Who would know or care?

I think you know how it ends. I made the walk; I vacuumed the last four feet, and finished the entire job.  Because it’s the details that make the difference.   In vacuuming, in volunteer work, in Customer Service, and in Business.

Thanks for reading,

Brandon

 

Comments are closed.