The Customer Service Marathon

Yesterday, I ran a Half-Marathon.  Not just any Half-Marathon, but the “Tough As Granite” Trail Run.

In case you are wondering what a ‘Trail Run’ is and how it is different from any regular Half-Marathon, please allow me to share an excerpt from the race’s website where you sign up:

The race is in the “Sierra-Nevada foothills…the course features rolling and twisting hills”. Sounds rather scenic, doesn’t it?

I was not prepared. I run regularly, and this year have built up to 20 plus miles weekly, which includes a long run of 10 or 12 miles on the weekends.  Unfortunately for me, all of those miles are on flat surfaces in my town, either on a paved bike trail or a dirt runners trail.

As you can see from the picture below, my training was – how can I say this?  not appropriate for the course.

Customer Service is a Marathon

The beginning and end of the run was at the State Park right on Folsom Lake, however, the rest of the run was a continuous climb or descent up and down the foothills next to the lake.

For 13 miles.

Needless to say, this race took its toll on me.  I ran a much slower pace than I normally run and even though I ran with water bottles and took advantage of each and every aid station that I passed (Water? I’ll take it!  Electrolyte Replacements? I’ll take it!  Runner’s Gu Gel?  I’ll take it!) I still was wiped out at the end.

However, during the long periods of solitude while running (when the course goes over the river and through the woods, you can soon find yourself running alone), I was able to think about the upcoming Customer Service Week and found many examples of how Customer Service is really an endurance event.

I’d like to share some of those with you as I try to recover this week.

Thanks for reading,

Brandon


Leave a Reply

