That Small Town Feeling…In Customer Service

Last post, I started talking about “Big Company Customer Service” versus “Small Company Customer Service”. 

Undoubtedly, it is much easier to provide a Mel’s Diner feel when you have 100 or 200 customers than when you have 2,000 or perhaps 36,000,000.    It is simply impossible to reach out and touch every customer when sheer numbers and a fixed number of hours in the day make the Small Town service unfeasible.

Several ideas I have shared over time have popped back into my mind as I travelled to one of our smaller offices and I realized (again) how different it is to support several hundred people as opposed to several thousand or more.  I would love to hear your thoughts on the following ideas.

Part 1 – Not every customer is equal –  Gasp! In the Obama age of racial equality (I hold back on whether I feel President-elect Obama and former Queen of Talk Oprah Winfrey helped or hindered gender equality over the past few months), what the heck are you saying, Brandon?  Relax, don’t worry. Before you text me a fiery message, hear me out.

Simply put, our Customers usually follow the 80/20 rule.  That is, 80% of our Customer Service is concentrated on 20% of our Customers.  If you don’t believe me, take a look at your Customer base and do the math on your reported issues.  If it’s far different, shoot me an email, please, I want to hear your ratio.

That part analyzed, we now know that you should do several things.  The first is to concentrate on our 20% that is occupying 80% of our time.  We have talked in the past about concentrating on improving our products and services and then using automation to reduce complaints, so we won’t dive into that now.  However, that still remains true.  If we focus on what their issues are, we can reduce those issues, so that we can then transition to the second part.

Which we’ll share next time….

Thanks for reading,

Brandon

Leave a Reply

