It’s The Little Things That Count

I just returned from the greatest annual conference on the planet!  I know this seems like a monstrous statement (more to come on Jeff Taylor’s – founder of Monster.com – keynote), but it is without doubt, the…make that, THE Customer Support Conference of the year.   For nearly a week, I ate, drank, conversed, learned and listened with 2,500 Information Technology and Customer Support Professionals of the atmosphere of improving Customer Service across the world.   Whether I talked with someone from Denmark or Canada, the consensus was the same – we are all striving to improve our service and our companies.

Each day, as I returned to my room in the Texas-sized Gaylord Resort and Convention Center, I marveled at the sheer logistics of the 1,500 room resort.  From the six restaurants to the huge themed atrium to the hotel rooms, the dedication of the management and staff was evident every step that I took.  Details leapt out at me constantly.  My room was cared for like the grass on the Dallas Cowboy’s Golf Course next door.  My first night, I removed the throw pillows from my bed and used not only the pillows from my bed, but also the regular (soft) pillows from the second bed in the room.  When I returned from a day of classes, I found that the bed I had slept in had all my soft pillows neatly arranged and my unused bed had all of the throw pillows.  The room attendant had taken note of how I slept and made the room accordingly!  What great service!

 tp.jpg  Tiny details abounded, for instance, as with many hotel rooms, they folded their toilet paper into triangle points.  Why?  I am not sure.  Perhaps it conveys a sense that they check all items.  Perhaps it just looks fancy.  Whichever the case, I like it!  The surprise to me was not that they did this to the toilet paper rolls in my bathroom, but that they also did them in the bathrooms throughout the hotel and convention center. 

I don’t know if anyone else noticed this outside their room, but the message rang loud and clear to me – they cared!  It is the little things that count in our businesses and line of work.   Like Disney, they pay attention and it shows. 

Thanks for reading,

Brandon

One response to “It’s The Little Things That Count

  1. Good Layout and design. I like your blog. I just added your RSS feed to my Google News Reader. .

    Jason Rakowski

Leave a Reply

